Expertise

/Expertise
Expertise 2019-02-22T12:10:58+00:00

Strategic management has its theoretical roots in all the human and social sciences. A global view of an organization must nourish an essentially artistic approach to leadership. Therefore, by its very nature, it’s a field teeming with ideas from economics, sociology, organizational theory and psychology, etc., but there are few clear-cut answers that can be applied by executives.

Therefore, the research that is conducted in strategic management is similar to that put forward by Hippocrates for medicine: it must be done in the patient’s ward. The equivalent of the patient’s ward for strategic management is the company and its executives. Consequently, the closer we are to companies, the more we will be able to understand, explain and develop theories.

For that to happen, the company must collaborate and we must, in return, offer a broader view, an interrogation, and an objectivity that executives themselves cannot have. That is essentially the type of relationship we have and would like to maintain with companies; they gain a wider perspective and avoid near-sightedness. We gain a privileged access to the field and to managerial experimentation that can advance knowledge.

Over the years, we have worked closely with numerous companies. We have produced, among other things, cases, conferences, stimulating reflection activities, studies and books. We are presently collaborating (or have already collaborated) with the following enterprises:

  • Centraide of Greater Montreal
  • Fondation Lucie et André Chagnon
  • Société de transport de Montréal (STM)
  • Walter Group of Companies (Canada)
  • Gildan Activewear Inc. (Canada)
  • Cevital (Algeria)
  • Amor Benamor (Algeria)
  • Groupe des sociétés Hasnaoui (Algeria)
  • Hydro-Québec
  • SEPC (Sichuan Electric Power Corporation)
  • Guodian Corporation (Chinese national electric grid)
  • Sonatrach (Algeria)
  • Radio-Canada
  • Groupe La Poste (France)
  • Redmed-Group – petroleum services (Algeria)
  • Alliance Assurances (Algeria)
  • Société des alcools du Québec (SAQ)
  • Many other Canadian and Chinese enterprises

Expertise

/Expertise
Expertise 2019-02-22T18:10:58+00:00

Sur le plan théorique, le management stratégique puise dans toutes les disciplines des sciences sociales et humaines. C’est une vue d’ensemble sur l’organisation. Cette perspective alimente une activité de direction qui est essentiellement artistique. Ainsi, par nature, il s’agit d’un domaine où il y a beaucoup d’idées venant de l’économie, de la sociologie, de la théorie des organisations, de la psychologie, etc., mais il y a peu de réponses claires et applicables par les dirigeants.

La recherche conduite en management stratégique est similaire à celle que préconisait Hippocrate pour la médecine : elle doit se faire dans la chambre du malade. Pour le management stratégique, la chambre du malade est l’entreprise et ses dirigeants. Donc, plus nous sommes proches des entreprises, meilleure est notre capacité à comprendre, à expliquer et à développer des théories.

Afin que cela puisse se produire, il faut que l’entreprise collabore et nous devons lui offrir en retour un regard plus large, un questionnement, un recul que les dirigeants n’ont généralement pas. Telle est l’essence des rapports que nous entretenons et que nous voulons entretenir avec les entreprises; celles-ci acquièrent une vision plus large qui évite une certaine  myopie managériale. Nous y gagnons une proximité avec la pratique et un accès à l’expérimentation managériale qui peut faire progresser la connaissance.

Au cours des années, nous avons travaillé en étroite collaboration avec un grand nombre d’entreprises. Nous avons notamment réalisé des cas, des conférences, des animations de réflexion, des recherches et des livres. Nous travaillons présentement ou avons déjà entretenu des relations avec les entreprises suivantes :

  • Centraide du Grand Montréal
  • Fondation Lucie et André Chagnon
  • Société de transport de Montréal (STM)
  • Groupe de sociétés Walter (Canada)
  • Gildan (Canada)
  • Cevital (Algérie)
  • Amor Benamor (Algérie)
  • Groupe des sociétés Hasnaoui (Algérie)
  • Hydro-Québec
  • SEPC (Sichuan Electric Power Corporation)
  • Guodian (réseau électrique national chinois)
  • Sonatrach (Algérie)
  • Radio-Canada
  • Groupe La Poste (France)
  • Redmed-Group (Algérie)
  • Alliance Assurances (Algérie)
  • Société des alcools du Québec (SAQ)
  • Plusieurs autres entreprises canadiennes et chinoises